Understanding Content Accessibility Guidelines (WCAG) for NDIS providers

Making your website accessible isn't just about ticking boxes. It’s about ensuring equal access for everyone. This article will explain the Web Content Accessibility Guidelines (WCAG) and why they matter for your NDIS business.

Creating an inclusive website is crucial for reaching everyone in your audience, including people with disabilities. The Web Content Accessibility Guidelines (WCAG) provide a roadmap to help make your site accessible to all. In this article, we’ll explain this in simple terms, explain its importance, and show you how to make your website compliant.

Understanding and implementing the guidelines enhances the user experience for all visitors. This guide will walk you through the essentials, ensuring you can make informed decisions for your website.

What are the Web Content Accessibility Guidelines (WCAG)?

The Web Content Accessibility Guidelines (WCAG) were developed by the World Wide Web Consortium (W3C). They ensure that web content is accessible to everyone, including people with disabilities.

Why WCAG is Important

This isn’t just about following the rules but creating an inclusive online environment. By making your website accessible, you show that your NDIS business values all users, regardless of their abilities.

Social responsibility is about providing equal access to information and services.

Accessibility can also improve your business’s bottom line. An accessible website can reach a wider audience, improve your SEO, and enhance the user experience. Ensuring everyone can use your website helps you get more customers!

The Four Principles of WCAG

WCAG is guided by four core principles of accessibility: perceivable, operable, understandable, and robust. Its goal is to make web content accessible to everyone, regardless of their abilities or disabilities. Adhering to these principles can create a more inclusive online environment and prevent accessibility issues.


Information and user interface components must be presentable to users in ways they can perceive. This means providing text alternatives for non-text content and making content adaptable.


User interface components and navigation must be operable. This includes making all functionality available from a keyboard and providing users enough time to read and use content.


Information and the operation of the user interface must be understandable. This involves making text readable and predictable and providing input assistance where necessary.


Content must be robust enough to be interpreted reliably by various user agents, including assistive technologies. This means ensuring compatibility with current and future user tools.

Group of people working around a laptop, with one pointing and explaining whats on the screen

Practical examples of WCAG compliance

WCAG compliance involves making various adjustments to ensure your website is accessible to all users. For example, giving text descriptions for images helps people using screen readers to comprehend the visual parts of your website.

Additionally, ensuring all functionality is available from a keyboard is crucial for users who cannot use a mouse. Creating flexible content layouts can make navigating your site easier for all users.

Users with cognitive disabilities need extra time to read and use content. This helps them process information effectively. To protect users with photosensitive epilepsy, it’s also important to avoid content that could cause seizures or physical reactions, such as flashing images.

Providing clear navigation aids helps users find their way around your site, making it easier to locate information and understand where they are within the site structure—ensuring that your text is readable and understandable benefits all users, particularly those with learning disabilities.

Ensure that your content is compatible with assistive technologies. This will allow everyone to access and use your website, regardless of the tools they use.

Benefits of WCAG compliance

The National Disability Insurance Agency (NDIA) and the Centre for Disability Australia (CDA) recommend WCAG compliance. By adhering to these guidelines, you ensure that people with disabilities can fully participate in using your website. This prevents negative outcomes and fosters inclusivity.

Also, it helps boost your website’s search ranking. Search engines prefer websites that are easy to access. This means your website will appear higher in search results, making it easier for potential clients to discover you.

Additionally, conformance to WCAG allows you to reach a wider audience. Catering for all users opens the door to more clients, enhancing your business’s growth and reputation.

Understanding the WCAG ratings

WCAG ratings are divided into three levels: A, AA, and AAA, each representing a different degree of accessibility compliance and levels of conformance. These ratings are determined by the version of WCAG your website complies with.

Level A is the minimum level of accessibility. Level A includes the most basic web accessibility features. Meeting this level ensures that your site removes the basic barriers that prevent some users from accessing content.

Level AA addresses the most common barriers for disabled users. Level AAA is typically the target for most organisations, as it balances accessibility and usability. This makes your website accessible to a broader audience.

Level AAA is the highest level of accessibility. It includes additional enhancements that make content accessible to the maximum number of people. Achieving AAA status is not possible with every kind of web content.

Most organisations will aim for Level AA. This makes their website accessible to more people and complies with legal standards. Understanding these levels can help you determine your website goals.

Is WCAG a legal requirement?

WCAG itself is a guideline, not a law. However, many countries and regions have adopted it as part of their laws for web accessibility. In Australia, for example, the Disability Discrimination Act (DDA) mandates that websites be accessible to people with disabilities.

This has led to the widespread adoption of these standards as a compliance benchmark. NDIS providers and other groups should ensure their websites follow WCAG guidelines. By following WCAG, you enhance accessibility and protect your business from potential legal risks.

What are the different versions of WCAG?

Each version builds on the previous ones, introducing new criteria and enhancements while maintaining compatibility. Here’s a straightforward look at the different versions:

WCAG 2.0: Published on 11 December 2008, this introduced 12 guidelines to make web content more accessible. This version set the foundation for accessibility standards.

WCAG 2.1: It was released on 5 June 2018 and updated on 21 September 2023, adding one new guideline and 17 success criteria. These changes were made to help people using mobile devices, those with vision problems, and those with learning disabilities. The changes were implemented to improve accessibility for a broader range of users. All criteria from version 2.0 are included in version 2.1.

WCAG 2.2: Published on 5 October 2023, introducing nine new success criteria, further enhancing web accessibility. It ensures that content meeting WCAG 2.2 also meets the standards of WCAG 2.1 and WCAG 2.0. The only exception is criterion 4.1.1 (parsing).

Each version aims to make both web pages and a wide variety of digital content more inclusive and user-friendly. When your website meets WCAG guidelines, it remains accessible to all users.

More like this?

An email newsletter you’ll actually want to read!

Join thousands of others for non-spammy and informative tips directly to your inbox.